SCHOOL DISTRICT OF WEST DE PERE REGULAR BOARD MEETING WEST DE PERE HIGH SCHOOL May 15, 2024 5:30 PM

Board members present: Fuss, Borley, Van Den Heuvel, Dorn, Van Deurzen Board members excused: None

The meeting was called to order at 5:30 PM by Board President Fuss followed by the Pledge of Allegiance. President Fuss stated that the area news media had been notified of the meeting as required by open meeting law and state statutes.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to accept the agenda. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board recognized Karen Van Deurzen and Chris Steier, West De Pere Booster Club members, for the club's generous donation to install handrails on the bleacher in the High School field house. The Board also recognized Ezra Pantzlaff, 3rd grade student at Westwood Elementary School, he recently published his first book. Erza's book is called *The Welcome Drink* and available on Amazon. The Board applauded his outstanding accomplishment.

The meeting was opened to the floor to enable district residents to bring items of general concern to the attention of the Board. No concerns were expressed.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley that the April 15, 2024 regular meeting minutes be approved as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that the Treasurer's Report be approved. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley that previously paid bills to Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built be approved. Motion carried. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Ryan Van Den Heuvel abstained. Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel that previously paid bills be approved excluding bills from Vos Electric, VDH Electric, and Best Built. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Old Business

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to adopt the following policies as previously presented:

- 1000 School District Legal Status (reviewed-no changes)
- 2350 Elementary School Principal
- 8200 School Board Member's Code of Ethics (reviewed-no changes)
 - Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

New Business

Committee Chair, Scott Borley gave a verbal update regarding the Finance Committee Meeting.

Committee Chair, Barbara Van Deurzen reviewed the May 9, 2024 Curriculum and Policy Committee report.

Superintendent Krueger conducted the nominations for the president process.

Barbara Van Deurzen nominated Jenni Fuss for President. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to elect Jenni Fuss President. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Jenni Fuss assumed control of the meeting as Board President.

Barbara Van Deurzen nominated Ryan Van Den Heuvel for Vice-President. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley to elect Ryan Van Den Heuvel Vice-President. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Scott Borley nominated Barbara Van Deurzen for Clerk. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to elect Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Ryan Van Den Heuvel nominated Scott Borley for Treasurer. There being no further nominations, it was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to elect Scott Borley Treasurer. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Motion carried. Discussion centered on committee appointments.

President Fuss agreed to serve as delegate and legislative contact to the Wisconsin Association of School Boards and Barbara Van Deurzen agreed to serve as alternate delegate.

President Fuss appointed Scott Borley to continue as the CESA 7 Representative.

Board committee appointments were made as follows:

Budget/Finance Review	Policy & Curriculum
Scott Borley (Chair)	Barbara Van Deurzen (Chair)
Jason Dorn	Ryan Van Den Heuvel

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Barbara Van Deurzen to confirm Renning, Lewis, & Lacy [Robert Burns] as our legal firm for the 2024-2025 and (CLA) CliftonLarsonAllen LLP as our auditors for 2024-2025. Voting Yes: 4 Voting No: 0 Scott Borley abstains. Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Jason Dorn that the Press Times be named as the official newspaper for the posting of legal notices and minutes. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve the presented financial depositories for 2024-2025. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to approve the renewal of the vision and dental insurance as recommended by administration. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve all applications of resident students to attend a nonresident district and deny all 4K-12 applications to attend the School District of West De Pere for the 2024-2025 school year due to no space available with the exception of those siblings guaranteed enrollment per Board policy #5008. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel to approve (2) Foreign Exchange students at the High School for the 2024-2025 school year as presented by administration. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Jason to approve the school nutrition prices for the 2024-2025 school year as recommended by administration. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel and seconded by Scott Borley to approve staffing items as presented. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board was presented with various reports and communications: such as updates, various thank you's, invitations, and calendar items. Discussion Followed.

The Board toured the High School Tech Education facilities. The Board asked for further information regarding potential upgrades/expansion and also requested to move the June 19, 2024 regular board meeting to the High School.

It was moved by Barbara Van Deurzen and seconded by Scott Borley at 7:08 PM that the Board adjourn into closed session as previously stated. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

The Board reconvened at 7:18 PM.

It was moved by Ryan Van Den Heuvel seconded by Scott Borley to hire Jay O'Konski as the Westwood Elementary School Associate Principal effective July 1, 2024 as discussed in closed session. Motion carried.

It was moved by Scott Borley and seconded by Ryan Van Den Heuvel at 7:22 PM that the meeting be adjourned. Voting Yes: 5 Voting No: 0 Motion carried.

Barbara Van Deurzen Clerk